Aaron Morey Leads the Winners at I-96 Speedway’s Dirt Gold Cup Extravaganza

Lake Odessa, Michigan (Saturday August 24th, 2013): The sixth annual dirt gold cup where the 2013 season champions were decided at I-96 Speedway on Saturday night at the fast 3/8ths (0.375) mile high banked dirt oval located east of Grand Rapids in Lake Odessa, Michigan. The racing program was headlined by the Carbon Green Bio-Energy UMP DIRTcar Modifieds who were joined by the Rudd’s Septic Service UMP DIRTcar Street Stocks, and Smyrna Bar & Restaurants UMP DIRTcar Sport Compacts.

Photo Credit ( Benkert Photography )

Photo Credit ( Benkert Photography )

The Rudd’s Septic Service UMP DIRTcar Street Stocks were out first for a 20-lap main event feature. Andy Chilcote and two time and defending UMP DIRTcar east region champion Dan Dykman made up the front row. Chilcote would lead after lap one, but on the next lap Dykman would take the lead and remain there for several circuits. However 2011 track champion Bill Brandt Jr. found his way to lead and never looked back from there as he held on to pick up the win.

This was the 32-year old from Lake Odessa, Michigan’s first win of the year at I-96 Speedway in his Zylstra Construction / Chevrolet. Defending track champion Josh Frye finished just behind in second. Derek Poland, Richard Sweet, and Marty French completed the top five. Brandt Jr., Dykman, and Sweet won the heat races.
Then it was time for another 20-lap feature, but this time it was the Smyrna Bar & Restaurant UMP DIRTcar Sport Compacts who were lead out by Doug Spencer and Christian Wynbelt. Once the race began Wynbelt took the advantage early, but then lost the lead to point lead Nick Jenema. However on lap 10 Jenema would suffer a flat tire and gave the lead back to Wynbelt who motored on from there and got the win.

This was the first win of the season for Wynbelt the 33-year old from Muskegon, Michigan in the ASAP Sales & Service car. Jenema fought back to finish second. Jim Perry, Rick Edsall, and Christina Sherwood rounded out the top five. Two time and defending track champion Rick Peck and Wynbelt picked up the heat wins.
Finally, the Carbon Green Bio-Energy UMP DIRTcar Modifieds were out for a thrilling 20-lap main event. The front row consisted of Jared Guinn and Aaron Morey. Chief Starter Brett Farmer gave the field the green and it was Morey jumping out with the lead. There would be some challenges in the late stages but not enough to get around Morey as lead every lap of the race and scored the win.

The 33-year old from West Olive, Michigan picked up the first win behind the wheel of his Keyser Manufacturing / 2k Custom Chassis. Travis Stemler finished as the runner up. 2010 track champion Rich Robinson Jr., John McClure, and Tim Stemler finished off the top five. Travis Stemler, Robinson, and Tim Stemler won the heats.

The next event on I-96 Speedway’s schedule will be the double header weekend of racing from the members of the American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) district 14 flat track motorcycles racing on the fast ½ mile. There will be racing on both Saturday August 31st and Sunday September 1st to help close out the year.

I-96 Speedway is located at 3823 Portland Road in Lake Odessa, Michigan. For more information about the on-going 2012 racing season, please call: 1 (616) 642-0555 or visit the website at: www.i96speedway.com You can also follow along all season long by becoming a fan on the tracks Facebook Fan Page. Just go to: www.facebook.com/i96speedway and click on “Like” button. You can even follow us on Twitter as well, just go to: www.twitter.com/i96speedway and “Follow” us today.

Be Sociable, Share!
Follow Me