The Moweaqua Missile, Shannon Babb Wins Third Straight I-96 Speedway Hell Tour Event.

I-96 Speedway                                                                                                                     Contact: Mike Mouch

For Immediate Release:                                                                                                                   616-642-0555


The Moweaqua Missile, Shannon Babb Wins Third Straight I-96 Speedway Hell Tour Event.


Lake Odessa, Michigan (Sunday June 23rd, 2013): The traveling cars and stars of the United Midwestern Promoters (UMP) sanctioned Summer Nationals Hell Tour late models were the main attraction, during the special Sunday show at the fast 3/8ths (0.375) of a mile semi banked dirt oval at I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Michigan. This was the tour’s first and ONLY stop in Michigan for the 2013 season, which consists of thirty one events occurring over the span of thirty seven days.


Joining in the trip to Michigan were the Summit Racing Equipment Modified nationals featuring the best modified drivers from the Midwest going head to head with the local Carbon Green Bio-Energy UMP Modified drivers. The Rudd’s Septic Service UMP Street Stocks, and the Smyrna Bar & Restaurant UMP Sport Compacts made up the rest of the show.


The Rudd’s Septic Service UMP DIRTcar Street Stocks were the first feature event to hit the track for a big 20-lap A-main. The front row consisted of Sadie Klein and Derek Poland. Poland was able to jump out to the lead after the first lap. He would be able to hold on to a healthy lead throughout the race, and would go on to pick up the checkered flag.


This was the first win of the year at I-96 for the 57-year old from Muskegon, MI. He picked up the victory behind the wheel of the Arizona Charlies Wholesale / Chevrolet. Two time UMP DIRTcar eastern states champion Dan Dykman finished second. Sadie Klein, Jim Beltz, Ron Wiers completed the top five. Marty French, Carlind Forsythe, Corey Phelps, 2008 track champion Aaron Wolf, and Duane Nelson rounded out the top ten. Poland and defending track champion Josh Frey took the heats.


Next it was the Smyrna Bar & Restaurant UMP DIRTcar Sport Compacts. Gary Larabee and Dan Reimersma were the front row for their 20-lap feature. However Nick Jenema was the driver leading the opening circuit. He would remain there until lap 16. That was when the two time and defending track champion Rick Peck took the lead, and charged on to score the win.


This was the second win of the year for the 32-year old from Hastings, Michigan in his Frisbee & Son’s Plastering / Saturn SC2. Nick Jenema was second, Chuck Peterson, Chad Tomczak, and Gary Larabee were the rest of the top five. Peterson won the loan heat race.


It was then time for the 30-lap feature for the Summit racing equipment modified nationals going head to head with the Carbon Green Bio-Energy UMP DIRTcar Modifieds. 2010 track champion Rich Robinson Jr., and Dona Marcoullier made up the front row. Marcoullier jumped out with the early advantage. He would go on from there to go on to pick up the big win.


The Houghton Lake, Michigan 28-year old driver scored his first win of the season at I-96 in his Northside Towing & Service / Rocket by Ruhlman. Robinson settled for second. 2011 track champion Jacob Poel, defending UMP DIRTcar Michigan State Champion David Mielke, and Travis Stemler capped off the top five. Matt Westfall, Tim Stemler, Jeff Babcock, Curt Spalding, and Andy Sprague. Marcoullier, Robinson, Aaron Morey, and Sprague won the heats. Todd Sherman took the B-Main.


The final event of the night was the 40-lap main event for the United Midwestern Promoters (UMP) Summer Nationals Hell Tour late models. Two time UMP DIRTcar National Champion Ryan Unzicker and Three time UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion Shannon Babb led the 22-car field down to chief starter Brett Farmer’s green flag. Babb was the driver taking the early lead. He would hold on to that lead throughout the entire event and was able to score his third straight win at I-96 Speedway.


This was the first win of the season for the 39-year old driving out of Moweaqua Illinois in his Petroff Towing / Moyer Victory Circle. Finishing second was Tyler Reddick. Bobby Pierce, current hell tour point’s leader Brandon Sheppard, and 2010 UMP DIRTcar National Champion Rusty Schlenk finished the top five. Dustin Griffin, 2012 track, UMP DIRTcar North Region, and Michigan Dirt Cup Tour Champion Brandon Thirlby, Jason McBride, Wayne Chinn, and Jeff Babcock rounded out the top ten. The heat winners were Babb, Pierce, and Unzicker. The last chance race was won by Brian Ruhlman.


The next event on the I-96 Speedway schedule will be a Monster Truck Night of Fire and Thrills Spectacular featuring a special Demolition Derby for $2000 to win. There will also be fireworks to follow the show.

The next Car racing event will be in three weeks’ time on Saturday July 13th when the show will be headlined by the Carbon Green Bio-Energy UMP Modifieds facing off in a $1200 to win battle presented by Xtreme Chassis. The Rudd’s Septic Service Street Stocks, and Smyrna Bar & Restaurant UMP Sport Compacts will also be in action. There will be a special Motocross competition for ages 16&up as well.


I-96 Speedway is located at 3823 Portland Road in Lake Odessa, Michigan. For more information about the on-going 2012 racing season, please call: 1 (616) 642-0555 or visit the website at: You can also follow along all season long by becoming a fan on the tracks Facebook Fan Page. Just go to: and click on “Like” button. You can even follow us on Twitter as well, just go to: and “Follow” us today.

Be Sociable, Share!
Follow Me