Brady Bacon Wins First USAC Feature in 18 Years @ I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, Michigan (Saturday June 22nd, 2013): For the first time in eighteen years, members of the United States Auto Club (USAC) Amsoil national sprint car series made their way to the I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Michigan on Saturday Night. They were joined for action on the big 1/2 (0.500) of a mile semi banked dirt oval by the Carbon Green Bio-Energy UMP Modifieds. The Rudd’s Septic Service UMP Street Stocks and Smyrna Bar & Restaurant UMP Sport Compacts were also in action on the fast 3/8ths (0.375) of a mile oval.

First up were the Rudd’s Septic Service UMP Street Stocks for a 20-lap battle. The front row consisted of Jim Beltz and two time defending UMP DIRTcar racing series eastern states champion Dan Dykman. Dykman would jump out to the early lead. He would eventually have a fierce battle with defending track champion Josh Frye. The two would swap the lead numerous times until lap 14. That is when Frye would finally get to the front and go on to win the race.

This was the fourth win of the year at I-96 for the 29-year old Coopersville, Michigan driver in his Driftwood bar & grill / Chevrolet. Dykman had to settle for second. Justin Giddings, Zach Graham, and Marty French finished off the top five. Kendall Marlink, Beltz, Ron Harper, Ron Wiers, and Mike Hotchkiss were the rest of the top ten. Giddings, Sadie Klein, and Frye won the heat races. The B-Main was won by Marlink.

The Smyrna Bar & Resturant UMP Sport Compacts were out next for their 20-lap feature event. Christian Wynbelt and Nick Jenema were on the front row. After the drop of the green, Jenema took the race lead. He pull out and never look back from there as he went on to pick up the win. Two time and defending track champion Rick Peck finished in the runner up spot. Chuck Peterson, Chad Tomczak, and Christian Wynbelt capped off the top five. Gary Larabee, Rick Edsall, Travis Dewitt, Jeremy Gryka, and Jim Levering made up the rest of the top ten. Tomczak and Wynbelt were the heat winners.

The main event to roll out onto the speedway was the 30-lap A-main for the USAC AmSoil national sprint car series. Defending USAC Sprint Car Series national champion Bryan Clauson and Hunter Schuerenberg led the 20-car field down to chief starter Rusty Seaver’s green flag. Clauson would jump out with the early advantage. Then on lap 3 Kevin Thomas would manage to maneuver his way to the top spot. Clauson however would be able to recover by lap 10 that was when he retook the lead. He would remain there until lap 15 that was when Brady Bacon charged to the front of the field and took the lead. He would continue on and head to victory lane as the winner.

2002 USAC National Sprint Car Series Champion Tracy Hines finished third. 1999 USAC National Sprint Car Series Champion Dave Darland, and Robert Ballou completed the top five. Thomas, Schuerenberg, C.J. Leary, Matt Westfall, and Chase Stockon made up the top ten.

The final main event of the night belonged to the Carbon Green Bio-Energy UMP Modifieds. Tyler Norton and Tim Dalman led the stacked 22-car field out for their showdown. The opening lap was led by Dalman. He would then lose the lead to 2011 track champion Jacob Poel on the very next lap. Despite several cautions throughout the race Poel was able to hold on to secure the victory.

This was the 26-year old Spring Lake, Michigan driver’s third win this year at I-96 in his Poel’s Pro-Act Welding & Fabrication / Rocket. He got the win over Dona Marcoullier who ended up as the second place finisher. Aaron Morey, 2010 track champion Rich Robinson Jr., and two time track champion Todd Feutz rounded out the top five. Matt Westfall, Mark Anderson, Adam Thrush, Norton, and Mark Hotovy ended the top ten. The heats were won by Morey, Poel, and Anderson.

I-96 Speedway will now shift gears for their next event which will take place tomorrow June 23rd. The UMP Summer Nationals Hell Tour Late Models will invade the grounds for the ninth race out of thirty one total events that take place over thirty nine days in the 2013 campaign. This is the first and ONLY stop in the state of Michigan for some drivers in the entire country let alone the Midwest. The Summit Racing Equipment Modified nationals will also be on hand brining the top modified drivers as well. The Rudd’s Septic Service UMP Street Stocks, and Smyrna Bar & Restaurant UMP Sport Compacts will also be on the program.

I-96 Speedway is located at 3823 Portland Road in Lake Odessa, Michigan. For more information about the on-going 2012 racing season, please call: 1 (616) 642-0555 or visit the website at: You can also follow along all season long by becoming a fan on the tracks Facebook Fan Page. Just go to: and click on “Like” button. You can even follow us on Twitter as well, just go to: and “Follow” us today.

Be Sociable, Share!
Follow Me