Ron Blair Wins SOD vs. NRA Challenge at 8th Annual Ice Breaker / 2013 Season Opener

I-96 Speedway                                                                                                                     Contact: Mike Mouch

For Immediate Release:                                                                                                                   616-642-0555


Poel Takes Checkered Flag to net $1200 Pay Day at 8th Annual Ice Breaker / 2013 Season Opener


Lake Odessa, Michigan (Saturday May 4th, 2013): After a one week delay, the 8th Annual Ice Breaker / 2013 season opener took place Saturday night at the I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, MI. The show was headlined by none other than the fire breathing winged warriors of the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP who were joined by the NRA Sprint Invaders for a special co-sanctioned event. The sprints were joined the famed 1/2mile (0.500) high banked dirt oval, along with the Carbon Green Bioenergy UMP Modifieds, who competed for a $1200 purse. Also in action were the Rudd’s Septic Service UMP Street Stocks, and Smyrna Bar & Restaurant UMP Sport Compacts who competed on the 3/8ths (0.375) surface.


The first main event of the night was courtesy of the Rudd’s Septic Service UMP Street Stocks, as Rob Sternberg, and Marty French led the 22-car field to the green for 20-laps. Josh Frye would take the lead on lap two. When the field crossed the line for the final time it would be the 2012 track champion Frye getting the win. This would be the first trip to victory lane for his Rhino Roofing & Construction Chevrolet.Defending UMP DIRTcar Northeastern States Champion Dan Dykman finished second, Derek Poland was third, Bill Brandt Jr., and Ron Wiers rounded out the top five. David Grega, Marty French, Nate Trick, Duane Nelson, and Don McNaab completed the top ten. Sternberg, Dykman, and Brandt Jr. won the heat races.


Up next were the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP who hit the half-mile for a stellar 25 lap feature. Rod Blair and Andy Teunessen led the field of twenty sprints to chief starter Brett Farmer’s green flag. Blair would take the early advantage over the rest of the field. Ryan Ruhl would try to challenge for the lead in the mid stages of the race. However Blair would continue and hold on to take the checkered. Ruhl would settle for second, Brett Mann, Kyle Sauder, and Gregg Dalman rounded out the top five. Tim Allison, Jared Horstman, Dennis Yoakam, Darren Long, and Butch Schroeder made up the top ten.  Mann, Jay Steinbach, Ruhl, and Teunessen took the heats. While Beau Stewart, and Todd Heureman won the B-Mains. Horstman also took home the Dash.


The Carbon Green Bio-Energy UMP Modifieds were out next with a stacked 20-car field. Jacob Poel, and Jared Guinn made up the front row for the 25-lap A-main. Poel wasted no time pulling away from the rest of the field. There would be a couple of mid-race cautions that did slow the action down. However Poel had the car to beat and he would go on to pick up the huge victory and take his Poel’s PRO-ACT Welding & Fabrication Rocket Chassis to the winners circle.


David Mielke finished as the runner up, followed by Rich Robinson Jr, Jeff Erickson Jr., and Dennis Craft who made up the top five. Joe Rokos was sixth, with Tim Dalman, Aaron Morey, Todd Fuetz, and Travis Stemler who capped off the top ten finishing spots. Tim Stemler, Mielke, and Poel won the heats.


The final event of the night was the 20-lap feature for the Smyrna Bar & Restaurant UMP Sport Compacts. The front row was made up of the Christen Wynbelt and Chad Tomczak. Tomczak jumped out to the early lead. On the third lap Dillon Gentry took the lead away. Dan Reimersma would become the new leader on the very next lap. Then on lap seven Nick Jenema would take the lead and go on to the winners circle. Chuck Peterson finished second, Tomczak was third, Wynbelt, and Kurtis Bennett capped off the top five. Rick Edsall, Tony Taylor, Dean Christensen, Rick Nic, and Nick Rohloff completed the top ten. Gentry, and Rick Peck were the heat winners.


The next event on the 2013 Schedule will be next week, Saturday May 11th. The racing will switch to that of the two wheeled variety when the American Motorcycle Association (AMA) District 14 Flat Track Motorcycles will hit the 3/8ths for their first night of the season.


The next car night will be Saturday May 18th where the show will be headlined by the Allstar Performance Michigan Dirt Cup Modfieds presented by Lane Automotive. They will be joined in action by the Rudd’s Septic Service UMP Street Stocks, and the Smyrna Bar & Restaurant UMP Sport Compacts. The night will also feature a special motocross show featuring competition open for individuals 16yrs & up in a 60-85 cc class. Tickets for this event are available through ShowClix, the Official Ticket Outlet of I-96 Speedway. Purchase your tickets early and save some money by doing so at the link located here:


Saturday June 1st will be the date of the anticipated return of the STP World of Outlaws sprint car series. All of the top sprint car drivers such as; Joey Saldana, Daryn Pittman, Paul McMahan, Cody Darrah, last years I-96 winner Craig Dollansky, 20-time champion Steve Kinser, and 2012 series champion Donny Schatz will grace the surface of the big half mile along with the Accurate Engines UMP Modifieds, for a night that is sure to fascinate.


I-96 Speedway is located at 3823 Portland Road in Lake Odessa, Michigan. For more information about the on-going 2012 racing season, please call: 1 (616) 642-0555 or visit the website at: You can also follow along all season long by becoming a fan on the tracks Facebook Fan Page. Just go to: and click on “Like” button. You can even follow us on Twitter as well, just go to: and “Follow” us today.

Be Sociable, Share!
Follow Me