2011 Season Preview

One of the strongest Weekly fields of UMP Late Models in the state of Michigan will call I-96 Speedway home in 2011. (Randy Ellen Photo)
The 2011 racing season will soon be here. Let’s take a look at who to watch for during the upcoming campaign, which gets the green flag THIS  Saturday, April 30th with Opening Night 2011 / 6th annual Ice Breaker….

Lake City, Michigan veteran, Eric Spangler comes into 2011 as the Two Time and Defending UMP Late Models Track Champion, but he’ll have his hands full in defending that crown against the likes of St. Johns, Michigan star, Zack Olger, and Perry, Michigan standout, Sammy Epling.

Michigan Motorsports Hall of Famer and Multi-Time Track Champion, Kris Patterson, along-with veteran Bill Bray, former Track Champion, Mike Nugent, Scott Ehlert, Trevor Sloan, Dan Hubbell, Bry Sloan, Kris Patterson Jr., 2010 Rookie of the Year, 18-year-old Teddy Omlor, Rookie Runner-Up, Luke Hubbell and more will make one of the most competitive and talented UMP Late Model divisions in the Midwest that much more exciting.

In the UMP Modifieds, 2010 UMP Michigan State Champion and Defending I-96 Speedway Track Champion, Mt. Pleasant, Michigan’s Rich Robinson Jr., leads a stellar cast of open wheeled stars that also includes; Olger, who’ll once again pull double duty all season long in both UMP Late Models and Modifieds!

In addition, Former Two-Time Track Champion Todd Feutz, as well as Portland, Michigan teammates, the Father-Son duo of Tim and Travis Stemler, along-with another former Track Champion, Shannon Fisk will all challenge, as will the likes of Mark Anderson, Jared Guinn, Justin Fleming, Todd Cowan, 2010 Rookie of the Year, Eric Knight, and more will all make this division one of the most exciting in 2011.

The UMP Street Stocks will see Lowell, Michigan veteran, and Defending Track Champion, Gary Vandermark lead another solid core of drivers looking to make their mark. He’ll be challenged all season long by the likes of young rising star and fellow Lowell resident, Hillary Smith as well as Former Track Champion Aaron Wolf.

Also watch out for the likes of drivers such as 2010 Rookie of the Year, Ron Harper as well as Richard Hyvarinen, Ron Wiers, Bill Brandt Jr., Justin Gilland, Steve Piercefield, Mike Hotchkiss, and a host of other top notch Street Stocks competitors including potential invaders such as Dan Dykman, Derek Poland, Mike Sparks, and more.

Finally in the UMP Sport Compacts (formerly Four Cylinders / Road Beaters) division, Ada, Michigan stand out, Dan Reimersma is on the top of the mountain as the Defending Track Champion and he hopes to stay there again in 2011 as he will have to fight off the advances of fellow Ada resident, crafty veteran, Paul Namey.

Also 2010 Rookie of the Year (18 and over), Rick Peck will make some noise as will Scott Rumsey, Jason Feutz, the other 2010 Rookie of the Year (17 and under), 16-year-old Calvin Stemler. Also Greg Pinard, Steve Wawiernia, Adam Meis, Terry Henderson, former Track Champion, Dave Holcomb, and a talented crop of young rising stars will all stake their claim on the 2011 Track Championship throughout the upcoming season.

Be Sociable, Share!
Follow Me